Landscape

How the Field Stacks Up

Pricing, usage limits, and performance across MonetizeKit, Autumn, Flexprice, Stigg, Lago, Stripe Billing, and Chargebee, in one place, with the source of every number.

98 cells across 14 dimensions. 4 are measured by a public harness; the rest are what each vendor documents or claims. Verified against sources on 2026-09-06.

How to Read This

A number without its origin is an opinion. Every cell below carries one of four provenance labels and, where one exists, a link to the page it came from.

Measured

Produced by a public, reproducible harness you can run yourself. Only MonetizeKit's own nightly numbers qualify; we have not load-tested any other vendor.

Documented

Stated in the vendor's documentation, pricing page, or API reference on the date shown.

Claimed

Stated in vendor marketing or a blog post, or repeated by a third party. Not independently verifiable.

Not published

We could not find a public statement. The absence of a number is not a judgement about the product.

One vocabulary for every cell

Vendors write P95, p95, and "sub-50ms"; per second, /sec, and RPS; 10K and 10,000. Every figure below is rewritten into the same units so the cells read on one scale.

p95, p99
The 95th or 99th percentile of response time: 95 or 99 of every 100 requests were at least this fast. Always paired with where it was measured.
end to end
Measured by a client outside the vendor's network, so the figure includes network time. Only measured figures on this page are end to end.
server-side
Measured inside the vendor's infrastructure, excluding client network time. Not comparable with end to end.
cached
Served from a local cache or sidecar next to your application. Reflects cache hits, not the vendor's API.
N/s, N/min, N/month
Requests or events per second, minute, or month. Every rate names its scope: per API key, per account, per organization, or per customer.
uptime SLA
A contractual availability commitment. Marketing uptime figures without a contract are labeled Claimed.

Three things this page does not do

  • It does not benchmark other vendors. We have not load-tested any competitor and will not publish a number about them that they did not publish first.
  • It does not rank. Scopes differ (per API key, per account, per customer), and a server-side or cached latency is not comparable with an end-to-end one that includes network.
  • It does not stay current on its own. Tiers and limits change without notice; the linked source is authoritative and this page tells you where to look.
pricing

Pricing lens

What each vendor bills on, what is free, what the first paid tier costs, and what sits on top. Dollar figures are as published on the verification date and change often; check the linked pricing page before deciding.

Vendor
What you pay for
The billable metric each vendor prices on. It decides whether your bill grows with customers, events, or revenue.
Free tier
What you get before paying.
Entry paid tier
The first fixed-price tier and what it includes.
Fees on top
Charges that apply in addition to the platform tier.
License and hosting
Whether you can inspect or run the platform yourself.
MonetizeKit
Monetization control plane above Stripe

Monetized Customers (entities with entitlements or usage in the period)

DocumentedSource

Up to 100 Monetized Customers; core entitlements and metering

DocumentedSource

Pro $349/month: 1,000 Monetized Customers included, graduated overage above; Scale $999/month

DocumentedSource

None from MonetizeKit; your Stripe account's processing and Billing fees apply

DocumentedSource

Hosted platform; SDKs MIT licensed

DocumentedSource
Autumn
Open-source billing-state engine on Stripe
Head to head

Monthly billing volume (revenue processed) plus API requests

DocumentedSource

$8K billing volume/month, 10,000 customers and entities, 10,000,000 API requests/month, CLI and MCP

DocumentedSource

Pro $375/month: $50K billing volume/month, 20,000,000 API requests/month then $5 per 1,000,000, unlimited customers

DocumentedSource

Stripe fees still apply: 0.7% Billing plus payment processing

DocumentedSource

Apache-2.0 open source; hosted cloud or self-host

DocumentedSource
Flexprice
Open-core usage-first billing engine
Head to head

Events per month, with cumulative or monthly billing-revenue caps per tier

DocumentedSource

100,000 events/month, up to $100K cumulative billing revenue; or self-host

DocumentedSource

Build $500/month: 1,000,000 events/month, up to $250K cumulative or $20K/month billing revenue; Scale $1,000/month: 5,000,000 events/month

DocumentedSource

No revenue share; connected gateway fees apply

DocumentedSource

AGPL-3.0 open core; cloud, dedicated, self-hosted, on-prem

DocumentedSource
Stigg
Usage runtime and entitlements platform
Head to head

Managed entities plus usage events/month; ingestion rate tiers sold separately

Pricing page marked early preview, GA September 2026

DocumentedSource

10,000 managed entities, 5,000,000 events/month, 1,000 events/s per account; full credits and entitlements engine

DocumentedSource

Pro $499/month ($399/month billed annually): 10,000 entities and 25,000,000 events/month included, graduated above; 10,000 events/s per account

DocumentedSource

No revenue share; ingestion rate upgrades from $1,500/month; data destinations $150/month each on Pro

DocumentedSource

Proprietary; cloud, with BYOC / in-VPC / air-gapped from $40K/year

DocumentedSource
Lago
Open-source usage-based billing
Head to head

Cloud quotes based on annual billing volume and events/month; self-host is free

DocumentedSource

Open-source self-host with no feature gating; cloud trial available

DocumentedSource

Starter, Pro, and Business cloud tiers are quote-only

DocumentedSource

No revenue share stated; payment provider fees apply

DocumentedSource

AGPLv3 open source; cloud or self-host

DocumentedSource
Stripe Billing
Payment-native subscription billing
Head to head

Percentage of Billing volume: 0.7% pay as you go, 0.67% on volume above a monthly tier

DocumentedSource

No platform fee; 0.7% of Billing volume plus payment processing

DocumentedSource

Monthly plans on a one-year contract, priced by Billing-volume band; 0.67% on volume above the band

DocumentedSource

Payments 2.9% + 30 cents per card charge; customer portal custom domain $10/month

DocumentedSource

Proprietary hosted service

DocumentedSource
Chargebee
Subscription billing and revenue operations
Head to head

Percentage of monthly invoicing volume: $0/month + 0.80%, or $99/month + 0.65%

DocumentedSource

$0/month + 0.80% of invoicing volume on Flow

DocumentedSource

Flow $99/month + 0.65% of invoicing volume; Enterprise custom

DocumentedSource

Gateway fees apply; RevRec, CPQ, and data export are paid add-ons

DocumentedSource

Proprietary hosted service

DocumentedSource
usage

Usage lens

Rate limits, ingestion ceilings, batch sizes, and what happens at the limit. Every rate is written as N/s, N/min, or N/month followed by its scope: per API key, per account, per organization, or per customer. A per-customer limit and a per-key limit are not directly comparable.

Vendor
API rate limit
The default ceiling on general API calls. Every rate names its scope (per API key, per account, per organization, per customer); compare the scope as well as the number.
Entitlement or balance checks
How fast you may ask 'can this customer do this' and what the check returns.
Usage event ingestion
Documented limits on sending usage events, and the batch size per request.
Behavior at the limit and under failure
What happens when you exceed a limit or the vendor is unreachable. This is where billing systems differ most in practice.
MonetizeKit
Monetization control plane above Stripe

100 requests/min per API key by default, tier-aware through a plan entitlement; plus an API requests/month quota per plan

The public harness reads X-RateLimit-Limit before every run and paces to it

MeasuredSource

Within the 100 requests/min per API key limit; one call returns allowed, reason code, granting plans, and reset time

DocumentedSource

Within the 100 requests/min per API key limit; batch endpoint accepts up to 500 events per request

MeasuredSource

429 with X-RateLimit-Reset; the Node SDK offers response caching and configurable degradation modes (fail open or fail closed)

DocumentedSource
Autumn
Open-source billing-state engine on Stripe
Head to head

25 requests/s per organization on general endpoints; 30 requests/min per customer on billing operations

DocumentedSource

10,000 requests/s per customer on check and customer reads

DocumentedSource

10,000 requests/s per customer on track; batch endpoint accepts up to 1,000 events per request, processed asynchronously

DocumentedSource

429; customer-state reads may shed 503 with Retry-After; SDKs fail open by default (check returns allowed, track drops the event)

DocumentedSource
Flexprice
Open-core usage-first billing engine
Head to head

Not published for general endpoints; event ingestion limits are documented separately

Not published

Entitlements read as configuration; the architecture guide recommends push alerts and a local flag rather than hot-path calls

DocumentedSource

1,000 single-event requests/min per account; 100 bulk requests/min per account with up to 1,000 events per request

Marketing cites 40,000+ events/s and, elsewhere, 1,000,000 events/s; those are claimed, not documented limits

DocumentedSource

429; events are acknowledged only after a durable Kafka write; SDK retries plus optional S3 degraded mode and replay

DocumentedSource
Stigg
Usage runtime and entitlements platform
Head to head

Entitlement reads unlimited per account on the Edge API; management API limits not published

DocumentedSource

Unlimited entitlement reads per account on the Edge API; the sidecar serves cached reads locally

DocumentedSource

Report usage 3,000 requests/min per account; report events 1,000 bulk requests/s per account; ingestion tiers of 1,000, 10,000, 50,000, and 1,000,000+ events/s by plan

DocumentedSource

429 above the ingestion limit while existing enforcement continues; the sidecar serves cached reads and static defaults during outages

DocumentedSource
Lago
Open-source usage-based billing
Head to head

REST limits exist but figures are not published; streaming connectors are exempt

DocumentedSource

Entitlements read per subscription over REST; no dedicated check endpoint documented

DocumentedSource

REST batch of up to 100 events per request, atomic; Kafka, Redpanda, Kinesis, and S3 connectors are not rate limited

Marketing claims up to 1,000,000 events/s through the ClickHouse pipeline

DocumentedSource

Batch is atomic: one invalid event rejects the whole batch with 422; streaming is bounded by your broker

DocumentedSource
Stripe Billing
Payment-native subscription billing
Head to head

100 requests/s per account in live mode; 25 requests/s per endpoint

DocumentedSource

Active entitlements list per customer within the 100 requests/s per account limit; no quota check

DocumentedSource

Meter events 1,000 events/s per account (v1); meter event streams 10,000 events/s per account with 100 events per request, up to 200,000 events/s on request

DocumentedSource

429 with Stripe-Rate-Limited-Reason; meter events are processed asynchronously and aggregated at period end

DocumentedSource
Chargebee
Subscription billing and revenue operations
Head to head

150 requests/min (Starter), 1,000 requests/min (Performance), 3,500 requests/min (Enterprise default) per site; 50 concurrent GET and 100 concurrent POST

DocumentedSource

Subscription entitlements list within the plan's requests/min limit; no quota check

DocumentedSource

100,000,000 events/month included on Flow; up to 500,000,000 events/month with an add-on; API calls within the plan's requests/min limit

DocumentedSource

429 with Retry-After; live sites are flagged and may have requests blocked until traffic falls within limits

DocumentedSource
performance

Performance lens

Latency, uptime commitments, transparency, and consistency. Percentiles are written p95 and p99, and every latency figure states whether it was measured end to end, server-side, or cached. Only MonetizeKit's figures are measured by a public harness; every other latency figure is what the vendor documents or claims.

Vendor
Published latency
Response-time figures and where they were measured. End-to-end figures include network; server-side and cached figures do not, so they are not comparable.
Uptime commitment
Contractual uptime SLAs where published, otherwise marketing uptime claims.
Status and transparency
How you can see the platform's health and verify the numbers above.
Consistency of usage and balances
How quickly a recorded event is reflected in the next access decision.
Regions and failover
Where the service runs and how it handles a regional problem.
MonetizeKit
Monetization control plane above Stripe

p95 190 ms entitlement check and p95 174 ms usage ingest, end to end from an external runner, including a p95 159 ms network floor (latest nightly run)

Nine scenarios, 600 samples each, published with the raw run record; two scenarios missed their p95 budget on the latest run

MeasuredSource

No published uptime SLA; custom SLA on Enterprise

DocumentedSource

monetizekit.app/status with synthetic checks every 5 minutes from multiple regions and a live API health endpoint; public nightly performance harness with per-run permalinks and methodology

Usage and credits are updated on write and reflected by the next check; SDK caching is opt-in and bounded

DocumentedSource

Single region; the harness measures from one runner network path

DocumentedSource
Autumn
Open-source billing-state engine on Stripe
Head to head

Under 50 ms for US checks, as repeated in a third-party roundup, measurement point not stated; no latency figure in Autumn's own docs

ClaimedSource

No published uptime SLA; public status page

DocumentedSource

status.useautumn.com; engineering blog with public post-mortems

Synchronous: check can deduct atomically (sendEvent) or hold a lock; balances are the system of record

DocumentedSource

Single region after retiring an active-active multi-region setup; documented publicly

DocumentedSource
Flexprice
Open-core usage-first billing engine
Head to head

Server-side targets: p95 under 500 ms entitlement or balance check, p95 about 200 ms event ingestion; marketing cites p99 under 60 ms, measurement point not stated

DocumentedSource

99.95% uptime SLA on standard and premium, 99.99% uptime SLA on enterprise dedicated; SOC 2 Type II

DocumentedSource

Status page; architecture doc publishes SLOs, failure modes, and freshness tiers

DocumentedSource

Balances derived from ClickHouse aggregations; reconciled within 5 minutes on standard tiers, within 1 minute on enterprise dedicated

DocumentedSource

US, India, and EU stacks with region isolation; multi-AZ data tier

DocumentedSource
Stigg
Usage runtime and entitlements platform
Head to head

p95 under 100 ms entitlement reads and p95 about 200 ms usage reporting, server-side on the Edge API; p95 under 10 ms cached, from the sidecar in an internal benchmark

DocumentedSource

99.95% uptime SLA on Pro, 99.99% uptime SLA on Scale and BYOC; Edge API architecture target above 99.9975%

DocumentedSource

status.stigg.io with component uptime; sidecar Prometheus metrics

DocumentedSource

Sidecar cache updated by real-time subscriptions; report usage returns the updated credit balance optimistically

DocumentedSource

Multi-region active-passive management API with automated failover; CloudFront edge for reads

DocumentedSource
Lago
Open-source usage-based billing
Head to head

No latency figure published

Not published

99.9% historical uptime cited; uptime SLAs for enterprise customers by contract

ClaimedSource

Open-source repository; no public status page found

Not published

Real-time aggregation on the ClickHouse pipeline

ClaimedSource

Not published for cloud; self-host wherever you run it

Not published
Stripe Billing
Payment-native subscription billing
Head to head

No latency figure published

Not published

No public standard uptime SLA; Stripe reports above 99.999% API uptime in newsroom posts

ClaimedSource

status.stripe.com with per-product history

DocumentedSource

Meter events processed asynchronously; summaries and invoices may lag recent events

DocumentedSource

Global infrastructure; details not published per product

Not published
Chargebee
Subscription billing and revenue operations
Head to head

GET requests 'often under 50 milliseconds', server-side, in the API rate-limit notes; no formal figure

DocumentedSource

99.9% uptime SLA; status page reports 90-day uptime per region

DocumentedSource

status.chargebee.com with 90-day uptime by region and incident history

DocumentedSource

Near real-time usage aggregation on the usage-based billing tier

DocumentedSource

US, EU, and AU API regions reported on the status page

DocumentedSource

Why Only One Column Is Measured

We sell an API, so its latency is part of the product and is published like documentation: nightly, from a public harness, against a normal customer key, with the raw record behind every number. The method, the k6 workload, and the pipeline are open so the measurements can be reproduced and the method critiqued.

What is measured

Nine scenarios: network floor, platform baseline, single and batch entitlement checks, customer and catalog reads, and three usage-ingest shapes. Each authenticated scenario runs for 10 minutes at the key's 100 requests/min limit, so every p95 rests on 600 samples.

What the numbers claim

End-to-end p95 from an external runner, including its network. Each scenario's SLO is a budget above the measured network floor, so a breach means the platform moved, not the runner. Two of nine scenarios missed their budget on the latest run and the results page says so; the methodology describes the runner and its placement.

What they do not claim

Server-side latency, behavior above the 100 requests/min per API key limit, or any comparison with another vendor. A single region and a single runner network path are known limits of the method and are listed as such.

Frequently Asked Questions

Did MonetizeKit benchmark the other vendors?

No. Only MonetizeKit's own numbers are measured, by a public nightly harness whose method and raw run records are published. Every other vendor's figure is what that vendor documents or claims, and each cell says which. Load-testing a competitor's production API without permission would be neither fair nor reliable.

Why do the latency figures look so different across vendors?

They are measured at different points. MonetizeKit's p95 is end to end from an external runner and includes a p95 159 ms network floor. Stigg's p95 under 10 ms is cached, served by a sidecar next to your application. Flexprice's targets are server-side. Marketing figures rarely say where they were measured, and the table says so when that is the case. Compare like with like or not at all.

Why is MonetizeKit's API rate limit lower than some peers?

MonetizeKit's default is 100 requests/min per API key, tier-aware through a platform entitlement, and the public harness paces to it. Some peers publish per-customer or per-organization limits in the thousands of requests/s. Scopes differ, and a per-customer limit is not the same as a per-key limit, but the gap is real and we publish it rather than hide it.

How often is this page refreshed?

Every cell records the date it was verified against its source. Pricing tiers and rate limits change without notice, so treat the linked source as authoritative and this page as a map of where to look.

Numbers You Can Check

See the control plane behind the measured column, then read the head-to-head pages for the vendors that matter to you.